Watercolor and goauche

I worked in oils for several years, but I became more and more fascinated with watercolor and the translucency of the color on paper. Also, I found I could complete a work faster in watercolor because it dried quickly.

I taught myself how to work in this medium. I would read what I could then, but it certainly wasn’t as easy as now. Today, one can find all sorts of information on the internet.

I don’t really remember what kind of paper I started painting on, but it wasn’t long before I switched to using Arches cold press paper. It is still my favorite.

I painted with just watercolor for a long time, but hated it when I made mistakes I couldn’t correct or wanted to add some highlighted detail, so later I added some gouache into my watercolors. I think I liked this combination best. 

I got away from watercolors for a few years, but lately I have working with them again. I’ve found that I’m a little rusty, though.

Pictured is an older watercolor and gouache combination on Arches watercolor paper

2 responses to “Watercolor and goauche”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started